ASA Home
About ASA
Online Community

The Appalachian Studies Association was formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

Join ASA

The ASA is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, can be reached via email at

Telephone: (304) 696-2904
Fax: (304) 696-6221
Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

41st ASA Annual Conference

Re-stitching the Seams: Appalachia Beyond Its Borders

April 5-8, 2018

Millennium Hotel,
Cincinnati, Ohio

Learn more


About the Finance Committee

The Finance Committee provides reports and financial recommendations to the ASA Steering Committee. The group also prepares 3-year financial projections for Steering Committee members to help them make prudent decisions about fiscal policy, revenue generation, and expenditures.

Recommendations can include advice on membership and conference fees, financial matters related to the Journal of Appalachian Studies, input on the annual silent auction, and other items related to ASA operations. The committee also reviews the ASA Endowment policy biennially and makes recommendations for revisions, when necessary. Additionally, the committee provides input on fundraising activities for ASA.

The president, vice president, treasurer, president-elect, and executive director of the ASA are all standing members. Current members include Jeff Spradling, chair, University of Kentucky; Phil Obermiller, University of Cincinnati; Chad Berry, Berea College; Ted Olson, East Tennessee State University; Kathy Seelinger, Marshall University; Roger Guy, UNC-Pembroke; and John Nemeth, Education and Research Consulting. The chair of the Finance Committee is a voting member of the ASA Steering Committee.

The Finance Committee chair’s report is available in Appalink. The most recent report was published in Volume 39, No. 1. Fall edition.

Awards Committee
Program Committee for Conference
Membership Committee
Nomination Committee
Scholarship Committee
Education Committee
Young Appalachian Leaders and Learners (Y'ALL) Committee
Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Finance Committee
Communications Committee