ASA Home
About ASA
Online Community

The Appalachian Studies Association was formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

Join ASA

The ASA is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, can be reached via email at

Telephone: (304) 696-2904
Fax: (304) 696-6221
Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

41st ASA Annual Conference

Re-stitching the Seams: Appalachia Beyond Its Borders

April 5-8, 2018

Millennium Hotel,
Cincinnati, Ohio

Learn more


About the Communications Committee

The Communications Committee receives all suggestions from ASA members, deliberates and approves any changes to the website, and communicates such changes to the website overseer who plays an advisory role. The committee ensures that information for all association communication formats is submitted for publication and is completed in a timely manner. The chairperson is responsible for maintaining the ASA website and communicating all suggestions and concerns to the website overseer. The committee requests, collects, and reports information for Appalink and the ASA website. The committee coordinates with the ASA President, Conference Program chair, and Local Arrangements Chair for release of conference news.

The committee will work to ensure the website is ASA compliant, current, and timely.

Awards Committee
Program Committee for Conference
Membership Committee
Nomination Committee
Scholarship Committee
Education Committee
Young Appalachian Leaders and Learners (Y'ALL) Committee
Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Finance Committee
Communications Committee