ASA Home
About ASA
Journal
Appalink
Conference
awards
News
Committee
resources
Photos
Online Community
Contact

The Appalachian Studies Association was formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

Join ASA

The ASA is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, and Christopher Leadingham, Office Manager, can be reached via email at mthomas@marshall.edu and leadingham6@marshall.edu, respectively.

Telephone: (304) 696-2904
Fax: (304) 696-6221
Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

40th ASA Annual Conference

EXTREME Appalachia!

March 9-12, 2017

Virginia Tech,
Blacksburg, Virginia

Learn more

Google+

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, which meets four times a year, is made up of Elected Officers and Appointed Officers. All Steering Committee Members have to join the Association to hold office and are responsible for mentoring their successors in the duties of that office. For specific duties of each member, please refer to the ASA Handbook/Bylaws:

Handbook PDF (1.0 MB) | DOCX (953 KB)
2016 Bylaws PDF (501 KB) | DOCX (98 KB)

Elected Officers

President:

Debbie Zorn (zorndl@ucmail.uc.edu)
2015-2016 VP/Pres. Elect; 2016-2017 President;
Conf. Chair 2017-2018

Conference Chairperson (Immediate Past President):

Anita Puckett (apuckett@vt.edu)
2014-2015 VP/Pres. Elect; 2015-2016 President;
Conf. Chair 2016-2017

Immediate Past Conference Chairperson:

Sylvia Bailey Shurbutt (sshurbut@shepherd.edu)
2013-2014 VP/Pres. Elect; 2014-2015 President;
2016-2017 Past Pres./Conf. Chair (2016 Conf.)

Vice President (President Elect):

Carol Boggess (cboggess@mhu.edu)
2016-2017 VP/Pres. Elect; 2017-2018 President;
2018-2019 Past Pres./Conf. Chair (2018 Conf.)

Secretary (2014-2017):

Meredith Doster (mdoster@emory.edu)

Treasurer (2014-2017):

Kristin Kant-Byers (KKant2@uky.edu)

Program Chairperson:

Emily Satterwhite (satterwhite@vt.edu)
2015-2016 VPC; 2016-2017 PC; 2017-2018 PPC

Immediate Past Program Chairperson

Rachael Meads (rmeads@shepherd.edu)
2014-2015 VPC; 2015-2016 PC; 2016-2017 PPC

Vice Co-Program Chair/Co-Program Chair Elect:

Joy Leann Gritton (j.gritton@moreheadstate.edu )
2016-2017 VPC; 2017-2018 PC; 2018-2019 PPC

Vice Co-Program Chair/Co-Program Chair Elect:

TBD

At-Large Members (up to eight):

2014-2017: Barry Whittemore (barry.whittemore@ung.edu)
2014-2017: Karen Hudson (khudsonlexky@gmail.com)
2015-2019: Penny Messinger (penny.messinger1@gmail.com)
2015-2019: Elandria Williams (elandria@highlandercenter.org)
2016-2020: Anne Chesky Smith (anne.chesky.smith@gmail.com)
2016-2020: Travis A. Rountree (travis.rountree@louisville.edu)
2016-2020: Brittany R. Hicks (hicksb@dewv.edu)

Y'ALL Steering Committee Members (two):

2015-2017: Jordan Laney (jlaney@vt.edu)
2016-2018: Lesly-Marie Buer (leslymarie.buer@gmail.com)

About ASA
Steering Committee/Officers
ASA History
Awards
Contact

Appointed Officers

Archivist/Historian (2015-2019):

Lori Thompson (thompson39@marshall.edu)

Journal Editor (2016-2020):

Shaunna Scott (shaunna.scott@uky.edu)

Ex-officio Executive Director:

Mary Thomas (mthomas@marshall.edu)

Liaison Officer (2014-2018):

Kathy Seelinger (seelinge@marshall.edu)

Scholarship Chairperson (2016-2020):

Kehren Barbour (kehrenbarbour@gmail.com)

Finance Chairperson (2015-2019):

Jeff Spradling (jeffrey.spradling@uky.edu)

Membership Chairperson (2016-2020):

Rachel Terman (terman@ohio.edu)

Communication Chairperson (2017-2019):

Megan Osborne (megosbodotme@gmail.com)

Awards Chairperson (2015-2019):

Brittany Means (bameans@gmail.com)

Appalink Editor (2013-2016):

Eryn Roles (roles1@marshall.edu)

Silent Auction Coordinators (2015-2019):

Meredith Doster (mdoster@emory.edu)
Jesse Edgerton (jesseedgerton@yahoo.com)

Education Chairperson (2014-2018):

Theresa Burriss (tburriss@radford.edu)

Diversity and Inclusion Chairperson (2015-2019):

Susan Spalding (susan_spalding@berea.edu)

Ex-officio Office Manager:

Christopher Leadingham (leadingham6@marshall.edu)