ASA Home
About ASA
Journal
Appalink
Conference
awards
News
Committee
resources
Photos
Online Community
Contact

The Appalachian Studies Association was formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

Join ASA

The ASA is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, and Christopher Leadingham, Office Manager, can be reached via email at mthomas@marshall.edu and leadingham6@marshall.edu, respectively.

Telephone: (304) 696-2904
Fax: (304) 696-6221
Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

41st ASA Annual Conference

Re-stitching the Seams: Appalachia Beyond Its Borders

April 5-8, 2018

Millennium Hotel,
Cincinnati, Ohio

Learn more

Google+

ASA Headquarters

The Appalachian Studies Association is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, and Christopher Leadingham, Office Manager, can be reached via email at mthomas@marshall.edu and leadingham6@marshall.edu, respectively.

Telephone: (304) 696-2904

Fax: (304) 696-6221

Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

Media Inquiries

These contacts are listed geographically. Most will be able to direct you to specialists who can answer specific questions, or introduce you to people in the region you may want to interview.

For a list of committee members, click here.

GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Appalachian Regional Commission
Kostas Skordas, kskordas@arc.gov

KENTUCKY

EKU Center for Appalachian Regional Engagement & Stewardship
Rob Weise, rob.weise@eku.edu
Appalachianstudies@eku.edu

Appalachian Center at Southeast Community College
Robert Gipe, robert.gipe@kctcs.net

Appalachian Center at Berea College
Gordon McKinney, gordon_mckinney@berea.edu

Appalachian Center at the University of Kentucky
Erin Norton, erin.norton@uky.edu, (859) 257-4852

Institute for Regional Analysis and Public Policy
David R. Rudy, d.rudy@morehead-st.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Center for Appalachian Studies
Patricia D. Beaver, beaverpd@appstate.edu

Mountain Heritage Center
Tyler Blethen, blethen@wcuvax1.wcu.edu

Stephenson Center for Appalachian and Comparative Highland Studies
Stephanie Roark Keener, KeenerSD@lmc.edu

OHIO

Urban Appalachian Council
Maureen Sullivan, maureen@one.net

Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs

Mark Weinberg, weinberm@ohio.edu

About ASA
Steering Committee/Officers
ASA History
Awards
Contact

TENNESSEE

Center for Appalachian Studies and Services
Roberta Herrin, herrinr@etsu.edu

Community Partnership Center
Virginia Seitz, cpc@utk.edu

Highlander Research and Education Center
Suzanne Pharr, hrec@highlandercenter.org

VIRGINIA

Appalachian Regional & Rural Studies Center
Theresa Burriss, Director/Chair, tburriss@radford.edu

Appalachian Center for Community Service
Steven L. Fisher, slfisher@ehc.edu

Appalachian Studies Program
Anita Puckett, apuckett@vt.edu

WEST VIRGINIA

Center for the Study of Gender and Ethnicity in Appalachia
Lynda Ann Ewen, csega@marshall.edu

Regional Research Institute
Ron Lewis, rlewis@wvu.edu

Any Other General Inquiries

Overthemountains@appalachianstudies.org


Suggest Updates for This Website

Contact Us at Overthemountains@appalachianstudies.org with the following information:

1) Name

2) Your e-mail address

3) Your phone number

4) URL to update

  (e.g., http://appalachianstudies.org/update)

5) Details of your update request

6) Attach a PDF or Word DOC, if any (up to 500k)