ASA Home
About ASA
Online Community

The Appalachian Studies Association was formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

Join ASA

The ASA is headquartered at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Mary Thomas, Executive Director, can be reached via email at

Telephone: (304) 696-2904
Fax: (304) 696-6221
Mailing Address:
    Appalachian Studies Association
    One John Marshall Drive
    Huntington, WV 25755

41st ASA Annual Conference

Re-stitching the Seams: Appalachia Beyond Its Borders

April 5-8, 2018

Millennium Hotel,
Cincinnati, Ohio

Learn more


Standing Committees

2015 Program Committee for Conference in Johnson City, TN:
 • Amy Collins, Chair
 • Amanda Fickey
 • David O. Hoffman
 • Karen Hudson
 • Susan Spalding

Website Committee
 • Eryn Roles, Website Chair & Appalink Editor
 • Rebecca Bailey
 • Jason Burns
 • Meredith Doster, Secretary, ex officio
 • Roger Guy
 • Yoshiko Guy, ex officio
 • Cara Hamlin
 • Derek Mullins
 • Aaron Nelson, Website Manager, ex officio
 • Shaunna Scott, JAS Editor, ex officio
 • Mary Thomas, Executive Director, ex officio

Scholarship Committee
 • Roger Guy, Chair
 • Chad Berry
 • Donna Sue Groves
 • Fred Hay
 • Anita Puckett
 • Cassie M. Robinson
 • Carol Baugh, Silent Auction Organizer, ex officio
 • Mary Thomas, Executive Director, ex officio

Finance and Development Committee
 • Rebecca Adkins Fletcher, Chair
 • Linda Spatig, President
 • Chris Green, VP/ Pres. Elect
 • Chad Berry
 • Mary Jo Graham, MU-ASA Liaison
 • Mary Thomas, Executive Director, ex officio

Membership Committee
 • Billy Schumann, Chair
 • Renee Scott
 • Pamela Twiss
 • Roger Guy, Scholarship Chair, ex officio
 • Mary Thomas, Executive Director, ex officio

Communications Committee
 • Kathy Hayes, Chair
 • Joette Morris Gates, PR
 • Eryn Roles, Appalink Editor & Website Chair
 • Aaron Nelson, Website Manager

Silent Auction Committee
 • Philis Alvic, Co-Chair
 • Carol Baugh, Co-Chair
 • Kathy Hayes
 • Joette Morris Gates
 • Donna Sue Groves
 • Deanna Tribe
 • Peg Wimmer

About ASA
Steering Committee/Officers
ASA History

Awards Committee
 • Emily Satterwhite, Chair
 • John Hennen, Cratis D. Williams/James S. Brown
       Service Award Chair
 • Sandy Ballard, Helen M. Lewis Community Service
       Award Chair
 • Casey LaFrance, Carl A. Ross Student Paper Award Chair
 • Jack Wright, Jack Spadaro Documentary Award Chair
 • Eryn Roles, e-Appalachia Award Chair
 • Chris Green, Weatherford Awards Nonfiction Chair
 • Jason Howard, Weatherford Awards Fiction Chair
 • Silas House, Weatherford Awards Poetry Chair
 • Carol Baugh, Teaching Award Chair

Education Committee
 • Theresa Burriss, Chair
 • Carol Baugh
 • Katherine Ledford
 • Tess Lloyd
 • Sylvia Shurbutt
 • Thomas Wagner

Ad-Hoc Committees

Black Belt Committee
 • Sokoya Finch, Chair
 • G. Frank Bills
 • Steve Fisher
 • Rosalind Harris

Diversity and Inclusion Committee
 • Susan Spalding, Chair
 • Beth Bingman
 • Steve Fisher
 • Joy Gritton
 • Rosalind Harris
 • Karen Hudson
 • Amelia Kirby
 • Meta Mendel-Reyes
 • Shaunna Scott
 • Barbara Ellen Smith
 • Elandria Williams

For a list of Steering Committee Members, please click here.